How Myopia Affected My Life

In the past (14 years ago), I will wear contact lenses for extensive hours. I stretched my eyes’ limits to 12 hours, 16 hours and at times even near 24 hours. A few times, I accidentally fell asleep in contact lenses and woke up to terribly dried-out eyes and a hard time in removing. Once, I had a micro-tear in the left contact len and not knowing, I wore it despite feeling uncomfortable because VANITY ruled me. After a detailed check, my optician informed me that I’ve “cut” my left eyeball. There was a scar on it, and it is still there. I had also deprived the oxygen flow to my eyes so much that blood vessels were very visible.

I was restricted to a maximum of 6 hours contact lens wearing per day.

A series of bad news were delivered in one shot within a few years.

I was diagnosed with keratoconus (KC) when I went for a 3-hour evaluation test for Lasik. KC is a non-inflammatory eye condition in which the normally round dome-shaped cornea progressively thins causing a cone-like bulge to develop. This results in significant visual impairment. It has been estimated to occur in 1 out of every 2,000 persons in the general population. Yes, I am one of those lucky ones. Not sure how is my condition now, but I sure was upset and worried when I was rejected for the lasik procedure years ago. I remembered I went to one lasik centre in Paragon. After being rejected, I was told that perhaps another alternative is to do implants, which cost more than 8k. The staff informed me that she will get the doctor to contact me once he’s back from overseas. I did not receive a single call.

 

For those who are blessed with perfect eyesight and asked how glasses wearing for someone with high myopia is like, here’s some points that you might not have been able to imagine.

 

I can only make glass lenses

In order to have thinner looking lenses. And it’s not even that thin. ;-(

Not to mention, it is easily breakable. I always have to be extremely careful with my glasses. And it turned me into an anal person – no one touches my glasses and I am very particular of where to leave my glasses when I go to sleep.

IMG_0443

Pain almost ALL the time

Ears hurt from carrying the ‘weight’ of the glass lenses. The nasal bones ache and bruises frequently. It even cause headaches and migraines.

Nose constantly has red marks from wearing glasses.

IMG_6546

People Look Good with This Eye Accessory, NOT Me

You see how people carry the specky look so well? That’s because they have almost non-existent lenses. Girls look cute with it, boys look nerdy and playful at the same time. I just look like wu la bo shi (乌拉博士)

WU LA BO SHI

 

Outfits dilemma

I cannot wear anything too feminine-pretty since I need to change back to glasses after 6-7 hours of contact lenses. That deterred me from wearing dresses and becoming a fashion blogger totally. Bummer! Each outfit I plan with the time schedule of my ‘eyes’ and after some time, I decided to just skip all the fancy outfits that will clash with my specs. #FoolproofPlan

IMG_8983

Mostly casuals – tees, jeans and shorts for me

I am Literally Blind

By now, you might be damn curious, how bad my eyesight exactly is?

Left eye: -12.00 (astigmatism -0.75)

Right eye: -14.00 (astigmatism -3.00)

In simpler terms, each eye is 1200+ to 1400 degrees, excluding my astigmatism.

IMG_9305

Who would have known that this pair of eyes are so “blind”?

I put the plans to have better eyesight on hold. Over the years, I have repeated the story many a times when people commented on my ultra-thick spectacle lenses and got very curious why a blogger like me didn’t get Lasik done.

For now, I am praying for an effective solution that wouldn’t cost me too much, or a miracle.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

