Sorry No Hawaiian Dance with My Ukulele!

Some think I know how to play the ukulele. Some think I have above average skills for this musical instrument from some covers in the past (that I thought was badly done), and most probably wonder why I enrolled myself in a Ukulele BEGINNER Course. When we talk about the ukulele topic, images like this pop into my mind:

dbc9b5490075187a5cc2788351ee1921Image credit: Pinterest

No worries though, I’m not starring in Jay Chou’s MV, so no ukulele with coconut husks attire dancing on the beach! The course that I enrolled in teaches POP songs. 😉

Earlier this year, I set a little goal for myself – to brush up a hobby in 2016. And… I am so glad I am doing it for real finally!!

The reasons for starting ukulele from scratch ALL OVER AGAIN are:

  1. I need to ensure that my techniques are right
  2. I need to learn more practical fingerings
  3. I need to learn how to read tablature scores (only learnt some chord charts by myself, thanks to google)
  4. I want to have discipline and do what I promised myself

 

IMG_6410

But all these wouldn’t be possible without my dearest sporting friend, YS!

I recalled messaging YS one day a couple months back and telling her HOW MUCH I want to enroll in a music course. I asked her if she would be keen to join me after googling for some music schools, she replied me “ok lor. If no one accompany you, then I go with you.” HAHAHA I know how “enthusiastic” she sounded right? Nevertheless, her enthusiasm is real as we proceeded to register online at Replugged Music School.

IMG_6413

I have to admit: Since primary school, my teachers have commented on my short concentration span. I get distracted easily and my mind will just wander elsewhere. Thankfully, the lessons are very easy to understand.Ukulele is said to be one of the easiest instrument to learn! Although I think I might struggle if I haven’t learn a bit myself before I attended the first class. #NotMusicExpert

IMG_6416

The class was kept at a cozy 6 pax so that it doesn’t compromise our learning.

The difficulty for me would be the difference of the techniques of playing a western and a chinese guitar-like instrument. When I was in secondary school, I learned just the strumming of the ruan for 3 months, and played it for 4 years. Until now, the strumming patterns remain in my head. Hence, I need to tell myself to re-adjust and learn a different set. 😉

IMG_6538

2 kukus in class trying our best to be bright students ;-p

Among a number of music schools that I compared, the ukulele lessons at Replugged is the most affordable and not to mention, at a very accessible location and with good reviews!

249B Victoria Street
Bugis Village
Singapore 188034

They did very interesting music videos, you can check out their Facebook page here or visit http://www.replugged.com/

One Comment

  1. […] That 3 months had been so fulfilling. Not wanting to break my own promise to learn something by this year, I signed up for a beginner class for Ukulele few months ago with a friend. I was never happier. I found ourselves a great school with very affordable fees! More affordable than other schools that I checked out! Although I somehow play the ukulele since the end of 2014, I still propelled myself to go for this music course because I thought I ought to do better. You can read up more here. […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

