The Power of Social Media Changed Our Eating Habits

Social media has been known to hold a lot of influence power. An “influencer” may not necessarily be a blogger and a blogger may or may not even have much influential power. What’s so powerful is that social media has the way to spread influence and make an impact or changes the way we live, eat, shop and even behave. It is important what kind of message social media holds for us – positive or negative influence. There are some that falls in between, no right or wrong but many times, humans self-judge and self-create rules that weren’t even there.

Sorry, I digress. I want to share with you in this post how social media changes J & my eating preferences.

 photo Dollarphotoclub_55188744_zpst1blkxkj.jpgImage source

 

What change?

We are not vegans nor vegetarians now, in case you are thinking. Social media simply gotten us cutting WAY DOWN (or totally for J) on meat. I have always prefer vegetables, mushrooms and tofu over meat (exccept times when we went for grills/BBQs), hence it isn’t that hard for me to “convert” and cut down on the meat intake. J was similar to me but being the big eater she was (and still is), the food intake she consumed largely includes meat. She loved her steaks with a glass of red wine. So I was pretty surprised that it’s been one month and she is still persisting her new diet.

 

Why this change?

Because of the cruelty we have seen. It’s totally heart-breaking.

We also want to eat cleaner, be fitter & healthier. Whatever I have been trying to do for the past 2 years.

 

To be improved

I am sorry, we still eat seafood, and I know that’s still cruel in the eyes of a vegan. We are trying our best to eat as little of those as possible. I also don’t think I can ever quit eating eggs. I love my eggs! ;-( I can’t be a strict vegan. I can don’t eat any animals parts but products derived by them is extremely hard not to eat. Food is also not easy to get when we are eating out, and we are always eating the same stuff. Cooking at home is easier and I think would be more achievable after we get our own house.

I googled for the types of vegetarian and here’s what I got.

Different types of vegetarian:

  • Lacto-ovo-vegetarians eat both dairy products and eggs; this is the most common type of vegetarian diet.
  • Lacto-vegetarians eat dairy products but avoid eggs.
  • Ovo-vegetarian. Eats eggs but not dairy products.
  • Vegans do not eat dairy products, eggs, or any other products which are derived from animals.
An omnivore who excludes poultry, beef, and pork from their diet but includes fish (and usually other forms of seafood like shrimp, oysters, scallops, etc.).
Because these people do choose to include meat in their diet (seafood is muscle tissue from a live animal and therefore meat), they are not vegetarian as vegetarians do not consume meat.
cats
The kind of things we have been eating

J gets to eat really nice food around her office area. I do not have many choices so I tend to eat Yong Tau Foo and Mushroom Ban Mian a lot haha. Otherwise, I will replace my meal with my overnight oats or try to make salads sometimes.

IMG_5800

My new favourite SINFUL indulgence is this nutella base pancake with lotsa nutella in it! It tasted almost like dunno Mr Bean or Jollibean’s round Mee Jiang Kueh (pancakes) with cocoa in it! Making at home isn’t easy to achieve the ‘volume’ so mine was very flat and crispy lol. Was so happy that my first attempt that making it made Dad gave me a thumb-up!

As I write about this, I am so tempted to buy some home later. Gosh, I feel so sorry for my hidden abs! Anyone has awesome home recipes? Please share with me! And yeah, you see nowadays many people also share recipes across social media. Look at the impact it has on our lives. Still couldn’t imagine those days that I had to do the dial-up thingy to connect to internet!

Leave a Reply

