Berries Chia-Chia Yogurt Overnight Oats

I seriously didn’t expect my first batch of overnight oats to taste THIS GOOD!

I used to eat oats – warm ones for afternoon tea-breaks. Sweet and savory, I’ve had my share. Not many people would like to eat this on a regular basis but I was enjoying mine especially when I worked from home 2-3 years ago. Last year, I was more infatuated with the savory one – Minced Meat Oat Porridge with egg.

Came across some recipes for overnight oats online and decided to try it out. FINALLY! And my ideas just keep coming in! I think my oats ‘career’ is kicking off although the cost of making is not exactly cheap because I make for quite a number of people! ;-p

What is Overnight Oats?

Overnight oats are the saviors of the mad morning rush! It is a combination of rolled oats, chia seeds (or any other healthy seeds), and yogurt into delicious, creamy oatmeal without any cooking. Simply soak the ingredients in the liquid you like! The most common mixture is equal parts of raw rolled oats, milk and/or yogurt. You can use any kind of yogurt or milk. Put in the fridge overnight, the oats will soak up the liquid and transform into a fuss-free, healthy breakfast.

(ps: I even made 2 small bottles with Milk Yakult as the liquid for Mom. It smelled damn good!)

Why eat Overnight Oats?

1. They’re Much Easier to Digest

2. They are Higher in Resistant Starch

3. They Save You Time

4. They’re Versatile

5. They Taste Like Dessert

Read more in this article.

6. It helps in weight loss

7. It’s healthy – packs a whole load of antioxidants, fibers and whatever goodness you put in

IMG_3422

Berries Chia-Chia Yogurt Overnight Oats

What you need?

  1. Mason Jars (Thankfully, my Mom & helper keep some jars from jams/Nutella etc so I save some $$$ from buying new ones!)
  2. Rolled Oats ($4.90 – $8.90 for a big packet in NTUC)
  3. Plain Yogurt (I got a tub from NTUC at $7.90, enough to make 5 jars)
  4. Manuka Honey (balance from Sis’ stash)
  5. Strawberries (1 packet @ $3.95 on sale!)
  6. Blueberries (2 packets @ $3.95 each)
  7. Chiaseeds (1 packet @15.90)

 

chia-seeds-health-benefits

Chiaseeds are rich in fiber, omega-3 fats, protein, vitamins and minerals.

Read: 17 Benefits Of Chia Seeds: Plus 13 Ways To Add Chia To Your Diet-With Recipes

Although there are many health benefits, of course, all food should be taken in moderation. More info can be found on this article.

IMG_3424

Ratio of rolled oats to yogurt is 1:1

You may like to use a cup to measure, but I do it freestyle because I am a little lazy. Mix the oats and yogurt together; add in a spoonful of Manuka Honey and Chiaseeds and mix it in. Taste the mixture to see if the sweetness is good enough for you.

After the mixture is done, start filling your jars! I layered my berries in and top some on the surface too! Super easy!

IMG_3425

A jar of overnight oats fills me up for a good 4 hours and it also boosts the bowels system. I am looking forward to sharing with you more of my ‘creations’!

Happy Monday!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

