Miss Ang made Ang Ku Kueh!

 Come to my era, most would not choose traditional nonya cakes/kuehs over fanciful muffins and cupcakes.

Hidden at the peaceful stretch behind Bedok block  85, Lek Lim Nonya Cake Confectionery reconnects me to my mother & grandmother’s culture & preferences.

anigif

Here I am! On a mission to steal some knowledge in making kuehs!

IMG_3047

Lek Lim Nonya Cake Confectionery has been around since the 1960s. They started out as a humble family business believing that delicious kueh can bring joy to anyone who tastes them. Now, with the third generation of the family running the business, Lek Lim has preserved their culture & tradition, making kuehs as good as before.

IMG_3051

Thanks to Ver for bringing me to such a different experience. 😉

Yes, we learnt to make ang ku kueh!

Ang Ku Kueh: Chewy glutinous flour skin filled with crunchy ground peanut paste in the shape of a tortise.

IMG_3053

But of course to keep us from sweating madly, the boss, Gavan, already had the ingredients prepared for us.

IMG_3054

IMG_3069

I think I am not too bad at this!

IMG_3079

Made a fusion-colored Ang Ku Kueh. 😉

Making process

Process of making Ang Ku Kueh. (Click for larger image)

IMG_3081

Sent our ku kuehs to the oven!

IMG_3082

Time to wrap some Pulut Inti Nonya!

Pulut Inti Nonya: Blue colored glutinous rice topped with grated coconut cooked in gula malaka and wrapped with banana leaf

I remember Mom loves buying this. 😉

IMG_3083

The color is so nice right!

IMG_3087

IMG_3089

I like my yam cake steamed instead of deep fried! I love most of my food soft & mashy one. ;-p

IMG_3094

But… fried ones look good too!

Best thing, I realized their kuehs are quite cheap!

See here.

IMG_3097

Don’t worry! It’s just Ver’s creation of her bring-home ang ku kueh!

Lek Lim Nonya Cake Confectionery is halal certified.

IMG_3101

Cheers! ;-D

IMG_3099

Thanks Gavan for packing for us so many different kuehs to try out!

IMG_3106

 Address: Blk 84, Bedok North Street 4,  #01-21, Singapore 460084

Telephone: 6449 0815

For more information, check out their website at http://www.kuehkueh.com.sg or their Facebook page here.

7 Comments

  1. Hi Herine, great now I know who I call out to when I need part timer :p

    Glad that you had a good experience, let me know when you are nearby, we can catch up again 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    1. Hey Gavan, thanks for reading! hahahaha, I think no one will buy my version of kueh! ;-p
      Sure sure, will drop by& say hi if I am nearby!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

