La Roche-Posay Dry Touch & The Importance of Sun Protection

What do I look for in a sunscreen for this sunny climate & high humidity? Definitely not a sunscreen that is greasy & heavy & unaccommodating for my makeup!

La Roche-Posay launches Dry Touch Gel-Cream SPF 50+ that is non-oily, non-sticky and ultra-matt with a comfortable texture.

mfphw_larocheposay_16

(photo source: MFP)

I attended a very educative & informative session with Dr Jean Ho (Consultant Dermatologist) & La Roche-Posay team at Mount Elizabeth Medical Centre.

Extracting some useful information from Dr Jean’s presentation slides:

The synthesis of vitamin D3 only requires 10 mins of UVB exposure.

Many people don’t know the difference between the 2 UVR (UV rays) which are UVB & UVA. Sharing an image which is easy to understand!

Untitled

UVB are the UV rays that attack the epidermis layer of the skin, causing sunburns.

UVA are the UV rays that attacks the dermis layer of the skin & is responsible for damaging collagen, elastin & DNA and causes wrinkles, pigmentation, photoageing & skin cancers. UVA rays are persistent from sunrise to sunset and are present all year long, even in the winter.

This is almost the same as my blog post 2 years ago, titled: “Protect against UV indoors“! If you would like, here’s the link. (However, I lost the images. ;-()

UVB is strongest between 10 am and 4 pm, especially around midday, whereas UVA follows the variation of visible light.

We are not protected even if we are indoors or in the car. I apply sunblock even when I am at home the whole day.

photo

Not only can UV rays cause skin aging, another frightening factor is skin cancer.

skin cancer

I don’t have to say anymore, do I?

REVIEW banner

IMG_2432

What’s in the press gift: Thermal Spring WaterDry Touch Gel-Cream SPF 50+ & Melt-In BB Cream SPF 50+.

I love facial spray mists! La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water (SGD$20.90) nozzle dispenses very fine mist that has cooling effect. Especially when the weather is so hot…. my 150g bottle is already half gone.

IMG_2525

New! Dry Touch Gel-Cream SPF 50+ (SGD$49.90)

Dry & Matte finish. Exclusive combination of 3 powders: Perlite, Silica, Corn Starch.

The texture & color is more creamy than gel-creamy. I would have think that it’s a sunblock cream. However, despite the density, the finish is matte and light. No weird color tone on my skin and it is relatively dry which is great as I don’t like to be reminded that I have layers & layers of skincare + makeup on. However, my face starts shining an hour later. I guess no products can really curb my skin’s weird oil secretion disorder.

*Note: SPF protects against UVB, while PA protects against UVA.

IMG_2482

IMG_2486

Melt-In BB Cream SPF 50+ (SGD$49.90)

I like the packaging of this BB cream. It has this fine tip for dispensing which is really good as I sometimes really just need a tiny dot. I ain’t a BB cream lover so I won’t pile on too much unless I have a need to.

The BB cream melts into the skin the moment my fingers start dabbing it. Application is great ease and it gives a dewy look. However, I noticed that on some days, when I look up close at my skin, the BB cream doesn’t adheres very well. It has these tiny fibers on the surface which gives a “fuzzy” look. I had ensured my skincare products were absorbed before applying the BB cream.

IMG_2489

(photo not edited but the “fuzzy” look doesn’t show up well here.)

I was wondering am I the only one who has this problem so I checked with Vivienne who is also using it. She has similar problems too and mentioned that the color tone doesn’t suit her dark skin. Well, look out for her review then.

And of course, I will be monitoring & update again what could likely cause the “fuzziness” other than the product itself. 

Now, remember to keep yourselves protected! Don’t play play with the UV rays!  

One Comment

Leave a Reply

